RSS Feed

Financial Fitness Blog

2012 Financial Mentor Awards

(Money Management) Permanent link   All Posts

Michelle Blog PhotoThe results are in for the winners of the 2012 Financial Mentor Award! The award is given to Wisconsin public school employees who take the time to mentor their colleagues on the benefits of good financial planning and saving for retirement.

We also received a number of comments from those who nominated a mentor that illustrate the effort people make to help others. Mentors “persistently, yet patiently, encouraged me to begin my financial retirement planning and walked me through the process of researching and then initiating my investment portfolio”; took time to “chat with me at the lunch table about the value of starting a TSA and putting in as much money as possible”; and always “make sure employees understand how changes in Social Security, WRS, or benefits impact them.”

We tip our hat to these well-deserving winners. Besides recognizing them here, each winner receives a personal certificate of recognition.

Keith Barton
Milwaukee Public Schools
Sarah Campbell
Wisconsin Dells School District
Jerry Danner
Lomira School District
Kris Debruine
Oostburg/Cedar Grove-
Belgium School Districts
Mary Frisch
Arcadia School District
John Hansen
Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton School District
Chris Heller
Appleton School District
Deb Huppert
Prescott School District
Sue Jasman
Mayville School District
Beth Killian
Arcadia School District
William Kirsch
Waukesha School District
Frank Koczan
Sheboygan Area School District
Mark Leschke
Appleton School District
Ken Loest
Fond du Lac School District
James Mani
Lakeshore Technical College
Tim McCarthy
Glendale School District
Brad Miller
Two Rivers School District
Bob Moeller
WEAC Madison
Sandy Nass
West Suburban UniServ
Kathleen Schneider
Madison Metropolitan School District
Judy Van Wattingen
Lakeshore Technical College

Do you have a financial mentor in your school? Maybe it’s you. Nominations for 2013 mentors are now being accepted online. 

Michelle Slawny, CFP®